Well, it has been entirely too long. In my defense, I have been doing some interesting drinking. If you ask why that did not lead to interesting posting? I don’t know.

Last week Friday was K’s office Christmas Party. This entailed going to a nice restaurant and getting our booze on. While there, I had the opportunity to try the signature drink of the restaurant, a balsamic vinegar martini.

Now, let me get things straight here. If you look that up on Google, you are going to find a lot of things that are made with vodka, an have things like strawberries dropped into them. I don’t hold with that. I’m a grump old fogy of an drinker at the age of 26. This was a gin martini, with a tiny dash of balsamic vinegar, nothing could be simpler.

Balsamic Martini

2 1/2 oz. Gin (I’d normally say Plymouth, but Citadelle is bright, rounded, and works)
1/2 oz. Dry Vermouth (Noilly Prat)
dash of balsamic vinegar (Please do use the good stuff here.)

Stir and strain, finish with orange twist

It really was quite good (and huge) at the restaurant. I’d say this is about a half portion by their standards. The balsamic vinegar was something I was worried about. It doesn’t take much imagination to see how too much vinegar would destroy a finicky drink like a martini. But it worked, and I’d actually give quite a bit of the credit on this to the orange twist, which will be a great deal more mellow than a lemon twist. Getting the scent of it as the drink rises to your mouth helps to blend everything together.

Maybe, having gotten over vinegar in drinks, I will try a shrub but that still seems like an awful lot of vinegar. This may be because I fear change, which is odd, as it is an old school drink. But that is for another post, and I should get back to work, my break is ending…

