A while back I promised a second post on fizzes. If that seems quite a while back, it’s because it was. I’ve played around with a fair number since then, but there’s one that I’ve been quite pleased with, and thought I would use this opporunity to share. To the best of my knowledge it’s a new drink, though the variations of the Fizz are infinite and subtle.

In fact, the careful observer will note that it borders on wholesale theft. I got the idea while I was mixing up “The Flower Power Martini”. No, I didn’t like the name either. I was also a little disappointed in the taste. Now, I generally don’t mind a slightly sweet drink, but that one went a little too far for me, just a little mind you. I wanted a way to spread it out a bit. Enter the Fizz. Adding four ounces of soda water to the drink was sure to eliminate that slight syrup feel I thought was at issue. (And, you know, totally change the nature of the thing.)

That was all well and good, but the vermouth seemed to stand in my way, so I switched it out for some lemon juice. Toss in some orange flower water, because I love the stuff and had flowers on the brain, and it was going somewhere.

The Bouquet Fizz

2 oz Gin (Bombay)
3/4 oz Lemon Juice
1/2 oz St Germain
1/4 oz Creme de Violette
1/2 tsp Orange Flower Water
egg white

Shake all and strain into glass. Top with soda water.

Not too shabby. A few notes before I go though. A whole ounce of lemon juice seems to muddy the thing up a bit. It’s also not the prettiest cocktail, as lemon juice plus creme de volette leads to a hint of gray in the final product. I was willing to forgive it though, as it gave me those wonderful flower notes without the over the top sweetness those liqueurs can bring to the party.

