Ian has already described a lot of the drink so I don’t need to do too much here. It did, I think, taste impressively like sulfur (almost certainly a result of the Wray and Nephew White Overproof Rum – one day I will find a drink that tastes good with this stuff, there must be one). It wasn’t necessarily bad, though, it simply took some getting used to (or, on an alternate reading, took a few swallows of overproof rum to face bravely). It might do well with an overproof dark rum, though those are hard to find in Minneapolis. By this, of course, what I mean is that I have yet to find any, and I’m jealous of my Lemon Hart 151 which would, I think, make for a magnificent version of this drink. I know Gosling’s also makes a 151 version of their dark rum, which looks very intriguing, but is, just like any sort of Demerara rum, difficult if impossible to get in Minneapolis.

The addition of a few dashes of Fee’s Aromatic bitters did a lot to improve the drink, I think, though simply tossing some cloves and a little cinnamon into the drink would have had a similar effect. Upping the molasses content to the recipe’s suggested dose might also smooth it out a little (we were operating without the help of the book). The drink certainly wasn’t bad (though I think it was a little off from what it could have been – given how we mixed it, probably).

This is, though, quite possibly the most warming drink I’ve had in a very long time (to say the least ). I’ll almost certainly mix it again, but probably not for another month or so. It’s only getting down to around 5 degrees at night here at this point, and the drink is warming enough that I think it would need to drop another 15 degrees overall before this becomes really good.

