I have a question for all you Rush listeners out there. I understand that you think global warming is a hoax. I also get some of the evidence against it. I’m even cynical enough to believe it possible. I am confused, however, about motive.

Suppose that there is no global warming, that left-wing politicians and scientists are making the whole thing up, from Al Gore to Greenpeace and every other green non-profit in the world. My question is this: Why? What do those thousands of politicians and scientists and NGO’s stand to gain from making up a global crisis and then attempting to change industry standards to ‘correct’ it? What do all those people have in common that puts them on the same side of what would be the best con in history, and what payoff is worth that much effort?

